Hello, And Goodbye

Twilight Time

Yes, it’s hello and goodbye time. I’m going to be shutting down this blog before the end of February, 2021, ending 13 years of, well, not continuous activity, but off and an bursts of activity. Like a lot of blogs, this one was robust at the start and then trailed off over the past few years. That’s not because I stopped writing, but that i have been doing more writing in more places.

My writing has also changed, less of the reactive, in-the-moment style that’s good for a blog and more focussed and in-depth. COVID-19 closed off a lot of opportunities, but I continue to write about music and culture, and since late summer have been producing a weekly newsletter, Kill Yr Idols, on the Substack platform. The weekly structure is far better for my current writing than the irregular bursts of blogging. So if you’d like to follow what I’m up to, I encourage you to subscribe!

As a last hurrah, I’ll be posting my Best Of lists from 2020 (copied over from different issues of the Kill Yr Idols) below, and that will be the last for the Big City, separate post for jazz, classical/new music, and all the beyond/experimental stuff that I love.

If you’ve been reading through the years, thanks for your attention, I always appreciate it. Though this site has been a money-loser for me, imaging you on the other side of the screen there kept it going. I hope to be sending you a regular, fresh, snappy newsletter. Best of luck to us all.

Published by

gtra1n

I'm a writer and editor here (musician otherwise), with bylines in The Wire, Down Beat, New York Classical Review, VAN, Music & Literature, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Signal to Noise, and many others. I'm also the Music Editor at the Brooklyn Rail. Contact me for any of your word needs.