The Last Titan

Igor Stravinsky was born this day in 1882. Imagine a world where one of the greatest practitioners of an abstract art was also a major, popular, public figure. I know, right…

Everyone’s dropping Le Sacre today, but I’m going to go with his most astonishing pure composition, Agon. And if you ever wonder what to listen to with Igor, just expect everything to be a masterpiece and go from there, because pretty much everything was a masterpiece.

If you’ve got the sheckles, this is one of the greatest collections of music since the advent of sound recordings.

“George Grella understood exactly.”

Robert Ashley

“My favorite new music blog.”

dotdotdotmusic

Published by

gtra1n

I'm a writer and editor here (musician otherwise), with bylines in The Wire, Down Beat, New York Classical Review, VAN, Music & Literature, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Signal to Noise, and many others. I'm also the Music Editor at the Brooklyn Rail. Contact me for any of your word needs.