The New Social Environment

Phong Bui, the Brooklyn Rail staff, and my peers have been running a daily New Social Environment for the past several weeks. These are Zoom-based lunchtime gatherings that have a host and a guest talking about art, writing, what the fuck is going on, everything. They are free to join for each and all, and at the end there’s a Q&A session involving the audience.

April 9 I hosted a session, talking with flutist Adam Walker about his experience of playing a live concert in a room closed off from the audience, and also what it’s like for him as a performer when there’s no chance of playing with anyone. Check it out below, and keep track of what’s going on at the Rail.

“I strongly disagree with much of…this essay…but it’s incredibly well-written and thought-provoking, and definitely worth a read. This is the kind of writing that I would hold up as a perfect example of why blogs are not merely fun and interesting, but also serious and important.”

Judd Greenstein

“He gets it! He knows music!”

Alvin Singleton

Published by

gtra1n

I'm a writer and editor here (musician otherwise), with bylines in The Wire, Down Beat, New York Classical Review, VAN, Music & Literature, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Signal to Noise, and many others. I'm also the Music Editor at the Brooklyn Rail. Contact me for any of your word needs.